In 2006 the state of Tennessee passed the Tennessee Responsible Vendor Act, which resulted in reduced penalties for illegal sales to minors for vendors who are certified. Once certified, vendors will NOT have their license revoked or suspended or an initial violation. Instead, they will receive a penalty (not to exceed $1,000 per offense) for an illegal sale to a minor.
Nonparticipating vendors now face increased civil penalties. Nonparticipating vendors who are guilty of a sale to a minor now face license suspension or revocation OR a penalty (not to exceed $2,500). Municipal Beer Boards may also revoke the license of nonparticipating vendors on 1st offense of a sale to a minor.
To become compliant with the Tennessee Responsible Vendor Act each vendor employee must complete a responsible vendor-training program within 61 days.
is the first training program that offers online, certified training for Tennessee’s Responsible Vendor Program. Tennessee ID is 100% certified with the Tennessee Alcohol & Beverage Commission
. Tennessee ID
offers cost effective, competitive fees.
will make it easy for your company to become fully compliant with Tennessee’s Responsible Vendor Act of 2006. Sign up
today and become a certified Responsible Vendor.
Click here to use our Cost Calculator
BENEFITS OF BEING A CERTIFIED RESPONSIBLE VENDOR
Your company will benefit by becoming a Tennessee Responsible Vendor. These benefits are
- Reduced sales to minors
- Fewer infractions save time and money
- Certified Responsible Vendors cannot have their licenses suspended or revoked (for a 1st offense) and pay less in fines.
- Certified Responsible Vendors can require successful TN ID training & certification as a condition of pre-employment
- Certified Responsible Vendors can improve their standing as a community partner – reduced sales to minors make local streets safer